My favorite iPhone Apps


Verizon has the iPhone. I have Verizon, you know what that means. I want one. For now I have to be content with my iPod Touch, which can use almost all the apps the iPhone uses. I have a lot.

Recently I was at [ whatever Julie ] where she had written a post of her five favorite iPhone apps. I quickly dashed off this list in her comments:

My favorite iPhone apps: (well iPod Touch right now)
Words with Friends (invited u to play a game)
Accuweather
Twitter for iPhone (use all the time)
foursquare
PocketMoney

Without explaining them, thinking I would just write my own post. During the day I realized I had forgotten “Starbucks” and “Groupon”. So here goes.

Words with Friends (free with ads or $0.99)
It’s like Scrabble, but you play on your iPod or iPhone and you get a notification when its your turn. I like that you can take your time with turns, there is like a 7 day limit. I bought the app because the ads can be rather annoying. If you want to play with me my user name is Beleza-u.

AccuWeather Weather App (free with ads)
I also like Accuweather. Julie was saying she uses to know what to wear and if she should take a sweater or jacket. In New York, when its winter, I’m wearing boots and a coat, but then again, I need to know if I should wear my heavy black leather gloves or if I can wear my cute little blue ones with no fingertips. Also, since I never watch the news I need to know what the forecast is. This app is good for that.

Twitter for iPhone (free)
I love Twitter and this is the standard app for iPhone. There are others, Echofon, HootSuite, TwitBird, Twit Pro, Tweetdeck, the only one I have tried is TweetDeck and I didn’t really care for it. This app works fine for what I need, you can follow, unfollow or block. You can also see if your followers are following you. It has push notification when someone mentions you or sends you a dm.

I have gone through about 3 apps for my smart phone, they either stopped working or I just wasn’t happy with them. So far this app is working fine for my iPod.

Foursquare (free)
Foursquare is a location app. You check in places you are, get badges, if you check in the most at a location you become the mayor. I use it mainly just for fun, but also for writing reviews.

K and I go to new restaurants all the time, she gets Groupons. When we go there, I check in on Foursquare, then when I go to write my review, I go online to Foursquare, get the name, address, phone number and web address. It makes things easier.

The only problem with it is the GPS is a bit wonky. When I am at the train station and go to check in, it tells me I am 3 miles away from the train station. And when I took this screen shot it said I was in PA. That makes things difficult sometimes. However, if the Foursquare on my iPod isn’t working, the one on my smart phone usually is.


PocketMoney LITE (free)
PocketMoney ($0.99)
Is a checkbook app, it is very easy to use and you can put multiple accounts in it. PocketMoney LITE has a limit of 2 accounts I believe. As you can see, I have more then that so I bought the app. I have 3 checking accounts, 1 savings account, and two loans. This app makes keeping track of them very easy. When I transfer money from one account to the other, it can be done in one step.

You can also put in ‘repeating’ transactions, like utility bills or car payments.

It has some other features, budgets etc, but I just use the checkbook part of the app.
Groupon (free)
Groupons are coupons you buy online, then print out and take to the company that issued it to redeem it. They are for restaurants, spas, museums, classes, bike riding in Central Park and so on. K and I use them all the time when we go to Manhattan.

This app signs into your Groupon account so you can see what you have, you can sort them by ones close to you or in order of expiration date. You can use the app to redeem the Groupon if you don’t want to print it out. You can also buy the current deal through the app.


Starbucks Card Mobile (free but you need to have a Starbucks card)
This has got to be the coolest app ever. I absolutely love it. If you have a Starbucks card, first you need to register it online. Then you get this app, add your card to it and then you can pay at Starbucks with your iPod or iPhone. After you pay, the app updates and give you your new balance. This is my app, yes I have $80 on my Starbucks card. Don’t judge me, yes I’m addicted. It’s a gold card and everytime I get 15 stars I get a coupon for a free drink. I have received a lot of coupons.

I would say these are my favorites, but I have to also mention I have game apps besides Words with Friends, I have Angry Birds, JewelMagic, Spider Solitaire and Word Warp. I also have the following apps iBooks, Kindle, Kobo.books and Nook for reading e-books. I have apps for Weightwatchers and Chase bank, my iPod keeps me pretty much connected with the world and makes my life easier.

About Suzi

No more wandering in the Hudson Valley. I have achieved my dream, it was a long time working toward it, but now I am here, living in NYC. My dream, my goal, my purpose in life. View all posts by Suzi

One response to “My favorite iPhone Apps

Leave a Reply

