Don’t tell me what to do


Last week I cut my thumb. I don’t think it was a very deep cut, it just bled a lot, probably because of where it was, and it looks long. It’s in a spot that is very hard to bandage. Of course since I am addicted to Twitter and Facebook I posted a picture of it on there. That’s when the trouble began. For me that is, because I hate when people tell me what to do.

When I posted the picture on Facebook, I didn’t say “Oh I cut my thumb! What should I do?” I just posted, “My thumb still hurts.” Right away someone posted, “Oh you need Neosporin and a bandaid.” First of all, I had already gone through about 4 bandaids (3 different styles) and they weren’t helping. Plus it was past the time for Neosporin. Second, who made this person my mom that she can tell me what to do?

People tell me I look young, I don’t see it. I look in the mirror and I see this tired old lady. But I have been told I look 30 or 35, some will even dip into the 20’s. For some reason this makes people think I need advice. The thing is, even if I were 35, 30 or even 25, that doesn’t give some random person the right to tell me what to do. Especially someone I only know through the internet. If that person is a parent that doesn’t give them the right to tell me what to do even though I’m not. This also applies to people that know me personally, just knowing who I am, being older (especially if it’s just in your mind) or being a parent doesn’t give you this right.

Some of you may be saying, “She didn’t really tell you what to do.” You’re probably right, but after a lifetime of those comments that is how it feels to me. Also, I’m not looking for advice, I’m looking for sympathy. Get the picture? Good, and good-night. That is all.

About Suzi

No more wandering in the Hudson Valley. I have achieved my dream, it was a long time working toward it, but now I am here, living in NYC. My dream, my goal, my purpose in life. View all posts by Suzi

Leave a Reply

