Is anyone listening?


Someone told me, I had already told her something ’18 times’. I seriously don’t think it was that many times. But I do repeat myself, a lot. People don’t listen, every time I put in for sick leave, my boss asks, why do you use your sick time? Because I don’t get paid for it if I leave but I do get paid for vacation time. Another thing, he’ll see me writing something down and say, ‘Oh you’re a lefty?’ I’ve only been there for 5 years.

So I repeat myself, because I feel like no one is listening. I send text messages and get no replies. I sometimes joke about how I’ll send Nick a text ‘Don’t text me, I’m driving.’ and I’ll get a reply from him ‘O.K.’, and I laugh, but at least I know he got the message. It’s a lot more worrying when I send a message to the person who is picking me up at the train station, and they don’t reply that they got the message. Hello? Are you going to be there to get me? Or am I going to be waiting in the cold, rain, heat …. whatever the weather is doing that day.

She follows up the statement with ‘If I tell you something twice you have to say I already told you.’ Maybe that’s because I’m annoyed at people not listening to me, maybe I just want you to know, that I am listening to you. Maybe I’m just a horrible person.

About Suzi

No more wandering in the Hudson Valley. I have achieved my dream, it was a long time working toward it, but now I am here, living in NYC. My dream, my goal, my purpose in life. View all posts by Suzi

One response to “Is anyone listening?

Leave a Reply

